Contact CJI | JOIN OR RENEW NOW! | Media Room

CJI Board Officers, Board Members and Staff

CJI Welcomes New Board Chair
Peter Koclanes

Sherman & Howard attorney Peter G. Koclanes was elected as Chair of the Colorado Judicial Institute on May 9 and will begin his tenure effective immediately. A member of the CJI board of directors since 2012, Peter will succeed Barbara B. Randell of Future Image Group as the CJI chair for a two-year term.

“I accept this position with incredible humility and a profound sense of responsibility to the Colorado judicial system, CJI, and my fellow members,” said Koclanes. “CJI holds an important place in the history of the Colorado judicial system, and the opportunity to help shape CJI’s future as Chair is one of the highest honors of my professional career.”

As Chair, Peter will work with Joshua Anderson and lead the 40 member board of directors, the Emeritus Directors and the Young Professionals Committee to expand CJI’s reach/awareness. He will also help coordinate the efforts of the eight different committees and spearhead the tenets of this membership organization – providing public education around the Colorado judiciary, supporting judicial education through scholarships to judges, and safeguarding the merit-based selection and retention system in Colorado.

“We are very honored to have an individual with Peter’s experience, involvement in and dedication to the legal and civic communities lead our community-run organization,” said Joshua Anderson, CJI Executive Director. “Peter has a passion for supporting the judicial system in our state and we are privileged to have him at the helm. And, I personally look forward to partnering with him on a variety of projects to streamline our processes, grow our membership, and further educate the community about the Colorado Judicial System.”

Colorado Judicial Institute Board of Directors

Board Officers and Board Members of the Colorado Judicial Institute are all volunteers.  The board plays an active role in determining the direction, priorities, and projects for the organization.  Board members who chair various committees, along with CJI staff, are responsible for seeing projects through to fruition. 

Board Members are recruited through the efforts of the nominating committee.  New board members are sought throughout the community, both legal and non-legal.  Requirements for new board members are a dedication to judicial independence and the desire to work for the best possible judicial system for the citizens of Colorado.  Board members are required to be members in good standing of the organization and to participate on at least one active committee.  The CJI bylaws mandate that at least 50% of board members not be in the full-time practice of law.  The nominating committee recommends nominees to the membership and there is a vote to fill board positions at the annual meeting.  The annual meeting is traditionally held in May.

Board Officers are elected each year at the annual meeting by existing board members.  Current  board officer positions include the board chair, board chair-elect, secretary, treasurer and past chair.  The board officers, also known as the executive committee, are charged with the oversight of the organization's activities, staff and daily operations.

For more information about the CJI board, please contact us via email or at 303-766-7501.

2020-2021 Board of Directors

Natriece Bryant
Colorado Department of Local Affairs

Marilyn S. Chappell
Sweetbaum Sands Anderson PC

Mark T. Clouatre
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

Hon. C. Scott Crabtree
17th Judicial District - Retired

Michael Dabbs
Gill Foundation

Faye Diamond
RBI Strategies & Research

Selena L. Dunham
Classique, LLC

Jennifer Erixon
Alliant Capital LLC

Nickolas D. Fogel
Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine, P.C.

Keo Frazier
Emily Griffith Technical College

Michelle Friends
Fairfield and Woods P.C.

Jeffrey B. George - Treasurer
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP

Edward A. Gleason
Nussbaum Speir Gleason PLLC

Jon Goldberg
LIV Sotheby's International Realty

John B. Grow, Inc.

Hon. Robert D. Hawthorne
Colorado Court of Appeals - Retired

Eric L. Hilty
National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Ronne L. Hines
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies

Hon. Gary M. Jackson
Denver County Court

Jane Jackson

Peter Karpinski
ARRIVE Hotels & Restaurants

Peter G. Koclanes - Chair
Sherman & Howard L.L.C.

Kimberley S. Koy
Employers Council

Andrew R. Laing
Agency 33

Marjorie B. Lewis, PhD.
Metropolitan Academy of Behavioral Health

Hon. Lino S. Lipinsky de Orlov
Colorado Court of Appeals

Britton Nohe-Braun
One Earth Future Foundation

Patrick T. O'Rourke
University of Colorado

Colin M. Purdy
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

Barbara B. Randell
Future Image Group, Inc.

Kathryn A. Reilly
Wheeler Trigg O'Donnell LLP

Donald L. Samuels - Chair Elect
Polsinelli PC

Shannon W. Stevenson
Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

Kristi Anderson Wells
Wells Family Law, PC

Gwyneth Whalen
Caplan and Earnest LLC

Rodney K. Yokooji

Emeritus Directors

Hon. Steve C. Briggs
Judicial Arbiter Group, Inc.
Colorado Court of Appeals – Retired

J. Daniel Brinker
J. Daniel Brinker & Co.

Stephen J. Burg
Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine, P.C.

E. Michael Canges
Senn Visciano Canges P.C.

Hon. Russell E. Carparelli
Conflict Resolution Services, Inc.
Colorado Court of Appeals - Retired

Laurence W. DeMuth, Jr.
US West – Retired

George D. Dikeou
COPIC Companies - Retired

Robert Ewegen
The Ewegen Law Firm, PLLC
Denver Post - Retired

Mark A. Fogg
Childs McCune LLC

Hon. Richard L. Gabriel
Colorado Supreme Court

Michael J. Gallagher
Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

Lawrence P. Gelfond
Gelfond & Associates, P.C.

Elinor M. Greenberg, EdD.
EMG and Associates

K.C. Groves
Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, PC

Sheila M. Gutterman
Griffiths Law, PC

David A. Hall
Alvarez & Marsal Disputes and Investigations, LLC

Hon. Melissa Hart
Colorado Supreme Court

Hon. Robert J. Kapelke
Judicial Arbiter Group, Inc.
Colorado Court of Appeals – Retired

Hon. Lynn J. Karowsky
Weld County Court - Retired

Gary Lozow
Foster Graham Milstein & Calisher, LLP

Laurie A. McKager
18th Judicial District - Retired

Hon. Gale T. Miller
Colorado Court of Appeals - Retired

Robert N. Miller
Perkins Coie LLP - Retired

James E. Nelson
The Law Office of James E. Nelson

Michael L. O’Donnell
Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell LLP

Mark W. Pedigo
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP

John E. Sosville
Platform Brokerage

Barbara A. Thompson
Employers Council - Retired

Ralph G. Torres
The Law Office of Ralph G. Torres

Yvonne E. Zuber
Lutz & Domaille LLC

CJI Staff

Joshua D.L. Anderson
Executive Director

Cynthia Ophaug-Johansen
Director of Marketing and Administration

Laura Rothenberg
Executive Assistant

Return to Top of Page

CJI Board member Larry DeMuth receives Minoru Yasui Community Volunteer Award.
CJI Board Member Constance C. Talmage Honored with CBA Award of Merit