Contact CJI | JOIN OR RENEW NOW! | Media Room

Judicial Excellence for Colorado Awards

CJI Annual Judicial Excellence Awards

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

5:00 p.m.

Due to the public health crisis, the awards will be streamed online for 2020 at

The event is free thanks to our generous sponsors.


The 2020 Judicial Excellence Awards will recognize five judicial officers for their outstanding service on the bench.  This year’s honorees are:

District Court Judge Larry Schwartz, 10th Judicial District

County Court Presiding Judge Theresa Spahn, Denver County

Magistrate Jami Vigil, 4th Judicial District

Chief Justice Nathan Coats, Colorado Supreme Court

Judge Robert Hawthorne (retired), Colorado Court of Appeals

CJI will also recognize the extraordinary efforts of Colorado’s court system during the COVID crisis with a special award to the Chief Judges Council which has been leading the response.


Contact Cynthia Ophaug-Johansen at 303-766-7501 or

Read more about our past Judicial Excellence Dinners: