Contact CJI | JOIN OR RENEW NOW! | Media Room

Judicial Excellence Awards

2000 and 2001 Judicial Excellence Award Recipients - Judge Jeffrey Bayless, Judge Kenneth Stuart and Judge James Ley

The Colorado Judicial Institute began recognizing judicial officers for their commitment to justice and public service in 2000.  For the first three years of the program, there was no distinction between district court, county court and magistrates.  CJI selected only one judge to receive the award, although there was a tie in 2001.  Prior to 2003, the award was presented at a lunch ceremony during the CJI annual meeting or at a scheduled meeting at the recipient’s courthouse.

The inagural recipient was Judge H. Jeffrey Bayless in 2000.

Judge James Leh and Judge Kenneth Stuart were recognized in 2001.

Return to Judicial Excellence Award Home Page 

Judicial Excellence Awards Nominations Now Open!

Nominations for the CJI Judicial Excellence Awards are open!  Click here to submit a nomination.

If you would like to read more about the awards, please visit the Judicial Excellence Awards page.

If you cannot use our online form, download a PDF of the form below.